Oct. 4, 2018

Engineering faculty honored for outstanding teaching


Three NDSU College of Engineering faculty members have been recognized for their excellence in the classroom.

Dean Steele, an associate professor in the Department of Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering, was given the 2018 Excellence in Teaching Award for his work incorporating hands-on experience and real-world examples in his courses.

“Dean is an invaluable, effective and dedicated teacher and mentor,” said Sreekala Bajwa, department chair for agricultural and biosystems engineering.

Steele joined NDSU in 1991.

The 2018 Early Career Excellence in Teaching Award was presented to Keerthi Nawarathna.

Nawarathna, an assistant professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, joined NDSU in 2014. His major teaching area is electrical and biomedical engineering, specifically, teaching circuits, biomedical engineering, and signals and systems.

Department chair Ben Braaten said Nawarathna is an outstanding educator who cares for his students.

The College of Engineering also recognized the role graduate students play in advancing NDSU’s student-focused mission.

Ashkan Eslaminejad, a doctoral student in the Department of Mechanical Engineering, was named the Graduate Teaching Assistant of the Year after receiving high marks from students for his performance in the classroom.

Eslaminejad came to NDSU in 2015 and is on track to complete his doctorate in December.

Steele, Nawarathna and Eslaminejad were honored at the College of Engineering Scholarship and Awards Reception Oct. 4 in the NDSU Memorial Union Great Plains room. The event was a celebration of student scholarship recipients, scholarship donors and faculty award winners.

As a student-focused, land grant, research university, we serve our citizens.


Submit Your News Story
Help us report what’s happening around campus, or your student news.