Content | Navigation |



Notable former NDSU and Duke students

Tonight, NDSU takes the national stage when the university's men's basketball team plays top-ranked Duke in the national tournament. The following is a list of some notable former students who attended each university:


Doug Burgum – Governor of North Dakota and founder of Great Plains Software

Arthur A. Link – former governor of North Dakota

William L. Guy – former governor of North Dakota

Alf Clausen – composer for "The Simpsons" as well as other television programs and motion pictures

Humayun Ahmed – writer and filmmaker

Milton R. Young – former U.S. Senator

Loren D. Hagen – US Army Special Forces Green Beret and Medal of Honor recipient

Amy Olson – professional golfer on LPGA Tour

Carson Wentz – currently in the NFL as Philadelphia Eagles quarterback 

Billy Turner – currently in the NFL with the Green Bay Packers

Kyle Emanuel – currently in the NFL as a linebacker for the Los Angeles Chargers

Chris Board – currently in the NFL for the Baltimore Ravens

Joe Haeg – currently in the NFL with the Indianapolis Colts

Ramon Humber – currently in the NFL with the New England Patriots

Phil Hansen – former NFL player for the Buffalo Bills and played in Super Bowl three times

Amanda Smock – US Olympian – Triple Jump, London 2012

Erin Teschuk – Team Canada for the 2016 Summer Olympics in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil



Richard Nixon– 37th president of the United States

Ricardo Lagos– President of Chile, 2000-2006

Hans Dehmelt–1989 Nobel Prize winner in physics

Robert Richardson– 1996 Nobel Prize winner in physics

Charles Townes– 1964 Nobel Prize winner in physics; winner of 2005 Templeton Prize

Elizabeth Dole–Former U.S. senator, cabinet member and president of the American Red Cross

Amy Gravitt– Executive vice president of comedy, HBO

Ken Jeong – Comedian, TV and film actor

Mike Posner – Singer/songwriter

Melissa Bernstein– Co-founder, Melissa & Doug toys

Martin Dempsey– Former chairman, U.S. Joint Chiefs of Staff

Amy Hood – CFO, Microsoft

Adam Silver – Commissioner, NBA

Alana Beard – Four-time WNBA All-Star

Grant Hill  Seven-time NBA All-Star. Turner Sports and NBA-TV broadcaster

Nancy Hogshead-Makar – Won three gold medals in swimming, 1984 Olympics

Abby Johnston – Silver medalist in diving, 2012 Olympics

Nick McCrory – Bronze medalist in diving at 2012 Olympics

Becca Ward – Won two medals in fencing at 2008 Olympics

Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

Vice President for University Relations
North Dakota State University
Phone: +1 (701) 231-1068 - Fax: (701) 231-1989
Campus address: Old Main 204
Mailing address: Dept 6000 PO Box 6050, Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Page manager: NDSU University Relations