Content | Navigation |



Alumni to be honored at awards luncheon

Outstanding NDSU alumni have been selected to receive presti- gious NDSU Alumni Association honors for 2013. Mike Krueger, chair of the Awards Selection Committee, announced the list of recipients Jan. 14. The annual Alumni Awards Luncheon is sched- uled for Thursday, April 18, at 11:30 a.m. at the Fargodome.

The Achievement Award, which recognizes individuals who have achieved distinction in their professional fields, goes to Terry Hanson, BS ’68, mathematics, MS ’70, education administration, and Gloria (Mostad) Stables, BS ’77, food and nutrition.

Hanson cofounded ULTA, Salon, Cosmetics and Fragrances Inc. in 1990. He also launched in 2001. He is the retired chairman, CEO, president and board member of the beauty chain that has more than 550 stores. After retiring from ULTA’s active management in 2002, he continued to serve on the board of directors until 2008. Hanson also is past president of American Drugstores, who operated stores under the banners of Osco Drug and Sav-on Drug.

Stables is a partner with Catalyst Health Concepts of Potomac, Md., a company that offers scientific writing, strategic planning, research and evaluation services for health promotion, nutrition, education and social services programs. From 1995 to 2001, Stables

was the national program director of the “5 a Day For Better Health Program,” which encourages five servings of fruits and vegetables daily. A registered and licensed dietitian, she is a retired captain in the U.S. Public Health Services Commissioned Corps.

Steven Kunkel, BS ’73, biological sciences, MS ’75, bacteriology and biochemistry, was selected to receive the Henry L. Bolley Academic Achievement Award, which honors an individual who has attained noted achievements in the area of education as a teacher, researcher or administrator. Kunkel is a professor at the University of Michigan Medical School.

The Horizon Award honoree is Amanda Smock, BS ’05, human performance and fitness. She was a triple jumper who was a mem- ber of the 2012 U.S. Olympic team. She won triple jump events at the United States Outdoor Championships in 2011 and 2012 and at the Indoor Championships in 2011. The Horizon Award honors individuals who have graduated within the past 15 years and have distinguished themselves in their professional fields or service to their community.

Sylvan Melroe, BS ’57, agricultural education, was selected to receive the Heritage Award for Alumni Service. Melroe was recognized for his active involvement with NDSU, including the Alumni Association board of directors and NDSU Team Makers. He assisted with numerous fundraising campaigns, including the Ellig Outdoor Track, indoor track, Festival Concert Hall and the Sigma Alpha Epsilon house. He also served on the College of Human Development and Education board of visitors, College of Engineering and Architecture advisory board and College of Business advisory board.

For additional information, contact Jakelle Cornell at, 231-6804 or 800-279-8971.

Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

Vice President for University Relations
North Dakota State University
Phone: +1 (701) 231-1068 - Fax: (701) 231-1989
Campus address: Old Main 204
Mailing address: Dept 6000 PO Box 6050, Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Page manager: NDSU University Relations