Content | Navigation |

Chair's Welcome Message

News from the Department

NDSU Computer Science Graduate Named VP Technology for Forum Communications

NDSU Computer Science graduate Rodney Holm has been hired as the Forum Communications Company vice president of technology.  Prior to joining Forum Communications, Holm worked as director of IT and engineering at Email on Acid in Denver and vice president of engineering at FocusVision Worldwide.  He joined FocusVision when they acquired the assets of QualVu, which he co-founded and served as the chief technology officer of.

According to the company, Holm will “lead the organization in development and maintenance of digital products, content delivery systems and Informational Technology systems.”

Holm is originally from Jamestown, North Dakota and graduated from NDSU with a B.S. in computer science in 1997.

Read more at Inforum.

NDSU Computer Science Graduate Attends State of the Union Address

NDSU Computer Science Department Master’s graduate Betty Gronneberg attended the State of the Union address in Washington D.C. on February 5th.  Gronneberg was a guest of North Dakota senator John Hoeven at the event.

Betty Gronneberg completed her Master’s degree at NDSU under the advisement of Dr. Kendall E. Nygard.  She now runs uCodeGirl, an organization that seeks to drive girls’ interest in computer programming and inspire the next generation.  She is also the recipient of a Bush Foundation Fellowship in support of this work.

She was born and raised in Ethiopia and earned a degree in Computer Science and Statistics at Addis Ababba University.  She also worked at the United Nations.  She completed her master’s degree at NDSU and has since worked extensively in the software industry.  Gronneberg serves on Gov. Doug Burgum's Innovative Education Task Force, is an adjunct instructor at Concordia College, was recognized by the Women Economic Forum and was named the 2018 YWCA Woman of the Year in Science and Technology.

Gronneberg is still active in the NDSU community.  She has returned to NDSU to give students tips for success.  She inspire students through her presentations with one saying that it was “inspirational to learn from Betty’s diverse experiences.” 

Read more at Informum.

WDAY Interviews Kendall E. Nygard, Kelvin Boatey

WDAY interviewed Computer Science Department Chair Kendall E. Nygard and undergraduate student Kelvin Boatey regarding cybersecurity education at NDSU.  The segment discussed the ongoing need for cybersecurity professionals, given the magnitude of recent attacks and stated that "NDSU has quite the pool to pull from, and Bison computer science students more than prepared to answer the call."

Watch the interview here.

Valley News Live Interviews Miller, Straub on 'App Based' Digital Parenting

Computer Science freshman Lucas Miller and Asst. Prof. Jeremy Straub were recently interviewed by Valley News Live regarding the use of an app that can help parents track their kids' activities online. Check out the news report here.

Mailing Address:
Department of Computer Science, NDSU Dept #2740, PO Box 6050, Fargo, ND 58108-6050

Physical Address:
Quentin Burdick Building Room 258, 1320 Albrecht Boulevard, Fargo, ND 58102


The Computer Science Dept has a LinkedIn group.
Join the group by logging in to LinkedIn and typing 'NDSU Computer Science' in the Search Box.

Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

NDSU Department of Computer Science
Dept #2740
PO Box 6050
Fargo, ND 58108-6050

Email: Webmaster

Last Updated: Saturday, February 16, 2019 10:35:02 AM
Privacy Statement