Content | Navigation |



NDSU students, faculty take part in North Central Weed Science Society’s 75th annual meeting

Past and present NDSU weed scientists participated and were honored when the North Central Weed Science Society celebrated its 75th annual meeting virtually Nov. 30-Dec. 2.

NDSU graduate students and staff competed in the Quiz Bowl and gave scientific presentation competitions.

NDSU’s Weed Team, consisting of Nathan Haugrud, Jeffery Stith, Joseph Mettler and Stephanie DeSimini, took second place in the Quiz Bowl.

Haugrud, doctoral student and research specialist, also placed second in the graduate student oral paper presentation contest in the Agronomic Crops I – Corn section with “Herbicide Safener Effects on Goss's Wilt Severity in Corn.”

Three NDSU representatives were elected to official offices. Harlene Hatterman-Valenti, professor and assistant department head of plant sciences, was elected the group’s 2021 president; Dr. Joseph Ikley, Extension specialist and assistant professor of plant sciences, is the communications editor on the board of directors; and Haugrud is vice-chair of the Agronomic and Specialty Crops section.

Also, as part of the celebration, professor emeritus Calvin Messersmith and Extension agronomist Tom Peters presented historical overviews of the society during the meeting’s general session. Messersmith presented the history of the organization and Peters reflected on its current state and how it has evolved through the years.

Notable society members also were recognized, including past presidents and honorary members and fellows. NDSU past presidents are the late John Nalewaja in 1979, Messersmith in 1985, professor emeritus Alan Dexter in 1996 and Peters in 2005, after previously serving as program chair. Honorary members/fellows and year of induction are Nalewaja (1980), Messersmith (1988), Dexter (1990), Peters (2008), Hatterman-Valenti (2011) and professor emeritus Richard Zollinger (2019).

As a student-focused, land grant, research university, we serve our citizens.


Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

Vice President for University Relations
North Dakota State University
Phone: +1 (701) 231-1068 - Fax: (701) 231-1989
Campus address: Old Main 204
Mailing address: Dept 6000 PO Box 6050, Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Page manager: NDSU University Relations