Pharmacy faculty receive teaching and research awards

In a profession that demands life-long learning, North Dakota State University pharmacy faculty members are being recognized on local and national levels for their commitment to students and research.

Jeanne Frenzel, associate professor of practice in the NDSU School of Pharmacy, was named as a recipient of the Emerging Teaching Scholar Award from the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy. “This selection by your peers signifies their recognition of you as a gifted teacher, scholar and academic leader,” according to the award letter from AACP.

Elizabeth Skoy, associate professor of practice, received the Generation Rx Champions award from the Cardinal Health Foundation and APhA - American Pharmacists Association.

The award honors a pharmacist who has demonstrated outstanding commitment to raising awareness of the dangers of prescription drug misuse among the general public, as well as the pharmacy community.

The faculty team of Drs. Heidi Eukel, Elizabeth Skoy and Jeanne Frenzel received the 2018 Award for Excellence in Course Assessment by the NDSU Office of Teaching and Learning for the pharmacy practice laboratory course that they co-teach.

Amy Werremeyer, associate professor of practice, received the Original Research Award from the College of Psychiatric and Neurologic Pharmacists for Photovoice as an Intervention for College Students with Mental Illness, a Pilot Study.


The NDSU College of Health Professions also honored faculty members Yagna Jarajapu and Jeanne Frenzel for their contributions. Frenzel received the Mary J. Berg Award of Excellence in Teaching. One reviewer wrote that Frenzel possesses a special ability to engage students in their learning, and developed creative learning activities for students such as the Amazing Self-Care Race and medication errors simulation, among others.

Dr. Jarajapu’s research focuses on vascular disease in people with diabetes. He has received highly competitive research grants from the National Institutes of Health, the American Heart Association, and is a fellow of the American Heart Association. One nominator said his research may one day lead to drug discoveries that will improve the health of people with diabetes. His laboratory also provides pharmacy students with an opportunity to participate in cutting-edge research.

“All of our faculty members in the School of Pharmacy share a commitment to excellence as we prepare the next generation of pharmacy professionals,” said Charles Peterson, dean of the School of Pharmacy and college of Health Professions. “Faculty, as well as preceptors and pharmacy professionals involved in our program, help us deliver a high quality educational experience for students.”


Top of page