Distinguished Alumni Award

The Distinguished Alumni Award program was established in 2007 as a way to recognize accomplishments of outstanding College of Engineering alumni and provide an opportunity to showcase their talents with students, faculty, and the university community.  

Dennis Johnson, '71 BS Electrical and Electronics Engineering, '74 MS Industrial Engineering

NDSU alumnus Dennis Johnson was named the recipient of the 2022 College of Engineering Distinguished Alumni Award.

Johnson, a native of Tioga, North Dakota, earned a bachelor's degree in electrical and electronics engineering from NDSU in 1971 and a master's degree in industrial engineering from NDSU in 1974.

After graduation he joined TMI Corporation, a manufacturer of casework and architectural woodwork located in Dickinson, North Dakota, as a plant industrial engineer. He became president in January 1982 and has served continuously as either president, chief executive officer, or board chair since.

Johnson is a member of Bank of North Dakota's advisory board and a member of the board of directors of MDU Resources Group, Inc. He is a former director of the Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis.

He served as president of the Dickinson City Commission from June 2000 through October 2015. He was twice named the Outstanding City Elected Official of the year by the North Dakota League of Cities.

Johnson was honored at the College of Engineering’s Scholarship and Awards Reception on October 13.


2021            Hugh McDonald, '80 BS Construction Management

                    Nick Borman, '84 BS Mechanical Engineering

2020            No Award

2019            No Award

2018            Warren Walhaug, '82 BS Civil Engineering

2017            Spencer Duin, ’66 BS Industrial Engineering

2016            No Award

2015            Marvin Jensen, ’51 BS & ’52 MS Agricultural Engineering

2014            Tim Brookins, ’87 BS & ’90 MS Electrical Engineering 

2013            Paul Cossette, ’82 Construction Engineering

2012            No Award

2011            No Award

2010            Don Powell, ’53 Architecture

2009            Gene Jackson, ’71 Civil Engineering

2008            Brad Schmidt, ’79 BS & ’80 MS Ag Engineering

2007            Jack Johnson, ’59 Mechanical Engineering

Top of page