Faculty Awards and Recognition Committee

The committee solicits, reviews, and selects finalist for the faculty awards and professorships. The committee is also charged with establishing criteria and nominating procedures for faculty awards. The committee may develop proposals for new awards or for other mechanisms to recognize faculty excellence and contributions. The committee is composed of seven tenured faculty members and the Vice Provost, who serves as the chair. Five of the faculty members are elected by faculty; two will be appointed by the Vice Provost in consultation with academic college deans. Members serve two-year renewable terms. Members may not serve more than three consecutive two-year terms. The awards committee meets as needed and at least once per semester during the academic year. The committee will work to minimize the possibility of any conflict, real or perceived, affecting the awards process. If a member of the awards committee is nominated for an award, that member shall recuse him/herself from the deliberation of the particular award for which they are being considered. Any committee member who has a strong conflict of interest with any of the award nominees put forward will recuse him/herself from further deliberations for that award.

Committee Members

  • Pamela Emanuelson, 2019-2023 (second term)
  • Jim Deal, 2019-2023 (second term)
  • Jeanne Frenzel, 2021-2023 (first term)
  • Ying Huang, 2021-2023 (first term)
  • Joseph Jones, 2021-2023 (first term)
  • Svetlana Kilina, 2019-2023 (second term)
  • David Roberts, 2021-2023 (first term)
  • Canan Bilen-Green, chair (non-voting)

Past Committee Members

  • Kevin Brooks, 2015-2017
  • Daniel Friesner, 2015-2021
  • Carolyn Hammer, 2017-2021
  • Sigurd Johnson, 2017-2021
  • Sumathy Krishnan, 2015-2019
  • Simone Ludwig, 2015-2021
  • Linda Manikowske, 2017-2019
  • Rodney Traub, 2015-2019 
  • Kimberly Vonnahme, 2015-2017

Committee Meeting Minutes/Reports

Top of page